Finance consultant, Ha strengthens the forecasting model and business plan of FabLittleBag

Finance forecaster, Ha Dinh, took on the mission to work with FabLittleBag in the _SocialStarters Autumn Immersion Programme 2020, to design and develop their business model to minimise costs and misestimates. Applying her modelling skills to remove one of their key challenges, whilst realising huge parts of her own potential and skillset made the programme an expansive journey for both sides…

“My client was FabLitteBag, a social enterprise that focuses on making sustainable environmentally friendly disposable bags for used period products. Fablittlebag takes away the stress and awkwardness for women through these easy-to-use bags and addresses the huge waste problem in the sea caused by flushing.  Next to large retailers such as Boots and Waitrose, they have been growing their e-commerce channels across the US and Europe.

My focus was to help them with their stock forecasting process and business plan. I was able to use my modelling skills to build an approach that forecasts sales and produces an estimate for their orders. This helps them to minimise costs that may incur by under- and overestimating orders. I also worked on their business plan model that supports them in their financial performance planning and making future investment decisions. 

The journey was a huge process for me, I started the programme questioning whether I would be able to add value. But I soon realised what seems to be complex, isn’t so, if you just make the effort of taking the components apart and assessing it. I learnt not to be scared of something that seems overwhelming and now I feel inspired and confident. So I really enjoyed every step on this journey with FabLittleBag and knowing that I was able to remove one of their challenges and add some value in such a short time, has been a key success for me as a consultant.”

Martha, CEO and Founder of FabLittleBag shares her thoughts of working with Ha:

“Ha helped us by developing a model that we can practically use in order to determine our future orders. Having a model to do this based on reality to date and future predicted sales saves no end of time and ends the finger in the air approach to placing orders. She has been a delight to work with and grasps concepts quickly. She would be an asset to any organisation “ 

Would you like to find your purpose, gain new skills, grow in confidence and help a social impact organisation to thrive like Ha did? Join our new programme in 2021 and work on tackling one of our 3 missions: inequality, climate change, or the economic crisis! Find out more here.

Leave a comment