Introducing Social Impact Consultant, Luke

Hi, I’m Luke (not short for Lucas, and not after Skywalker, unfortunately). I am originally from a small town in East Tennessee, but I’ve been living and working in New York City for the past five years.

For most of my life, I wanted to be a lawyer, and in high school and college I developed a strong interest in cleantech and renewable energy. I made the move to NYC after college to find work as a paralegal before attending law school. Thankfully, it did not take long for me to realize that law was not the right fit for me. I am a people person who loves building relationships and leveraging those relationships for the benefit of both my organization and my clients. I transitioned to a role in business development and worked in that area for the past three and a half years. Now, I am excited to participate in Social Starters Brazil before relocating to San Francisco to pursue work in the cleantech space and hopefully to make a positive impact for my future company and the environment.

I also have a longstanding interest in Brazil and Brazilian Portuguese that began with studying the language in high school and college. I visited Brazil in October 2015 and found the country to be a beautiful, dynamic place. (And incidentally, Brazil is where I first learned of Social Starters when I met cofounder Andrea on a bus from Paraty to Angra dos Reis!)

Social Starters Blog Photo

I am eager to return to Rio with Social Starters to bring together my interests in Brazil, Portuguese, and social enterprises. I love figuring out how to succeed in new environments and look forward to applying my skills in business development, sales and marketing to benefit a social startup in Rio. There is no doubt in my mind that when I return to the U.S. I will have gained as much, if not more than, I contributed while working with Social Starters.

Saúde!

Luke is currently resident on the Immersion Programme in Brazil, working alongside sustainability focused video production company, Mairare Produtura. This is the last group programme scheduled for 2017 but watch this space, as new group programmes and opportunities will be uploaded in spring/summer 17. To solo volunteer on your career break with a social entrepreneur in India, Sri Lanka, Brazil or the UK check out _TheAssignment now.

Leave a Reply

