Introducing Social Impact Consultant, Kavita

Written by Kavita Tailor, a project manager in housing regeneration, who will be supporting Prashant, the co-founder of Bamboo House India, a social enterprise which aims of utilise bamboo as an economic driver for providing sustainable livelihood opportunities to rural and tribal communities.

When I found the Social Starters programme it seemed the perfect opportunity to travel with purpose to a place I have wanted to visit for a while. I have Indian heritage yet have grown up distant from the culture and history.  I’m ready to immerse myself in the environment and soak it all in! I am also especially keen to understand and experience the rapid development occurring in the country.

I studied Geography at university and have always had an interest in the world around me, paired with a passion to do something socially minded within it.  My degree took a focus on urban and international development and since graduating I have focused on the ‘urban’ aspect working as a project manager in housing and regeneration in London.

In 2014 I unfortunately had to turn down an opportunity to work for a social enterprise in Bangalore as the timing didn’t work out. Since then, experiencing the field of social entrepreneurship in developing economies has most definitely stuck with me. I feel the programme will be the perfect place to explore these areas and I am ready to feed my curiosity whilst applying my skills to enable real benefit.

I am looking forward to reflect and create my next set of goals, which I am eager to be socially impactful especially in the current crazy world we live in! To share the experience and learn from like-minded people is so exciting.

I’m very grateful to have the opportunity to go on this adventure and can’t wait to see what it will bring! 

There are just TWO places left for our final Immersion Programme of the year, taking place in Rio de Janeiro from 18th March. Fancy yourself as a Social Impact Consultant, taking 6 weeks out of your life, and living with a likeminded group of people all on a similar journey to create change in their lives, and in the lives of others? APPLY HERE and book no later than 18th February 2017.

2 thoughts on “Introducing Social Impact Consultant, Kavita

  1. Fantastic, I love hearing about these small glimmers of hope within our misrepresented generation. I hope to see women like Kavita challenge for role as Secretary-General of the United Nations.

    Like

  2. Pingback: an indian adventure – thehebetree

Leave a Reply

