Introducing Social Impact Consultant Catherine

Written by Catherine Sykes.

I have been a fundraiser for seven years now, working on sponsorship for both the visual and performing arts at several well-known venues in London. However, for the last year I have been feeling like I’ve reached a bit of a plateau, going in circles with jobs that cover the same ground.  Thinking long and hard about how I might be able to use the valuable skills I’ve gained in fundraising, I hit upon social enterprise as an area of work that intrigued me, but I didn’t know very much about. When a recruiter suggested _SocialStarters to me, I looked at the website and something just clicked in my mind.

Coming from a very conservative background, valuing stability over all else, it never would have crossed my mind a few years ago to give up my job in search of something more. That is exactly what I did a few weeks ago, and I couldn’t be more excited!

The possibility of experiencing work in a foreign city intrigues me greatly.  I visited India as a tourist earlier this year, and as anyone who has been to India will know, it is an explosion for the senses- sight, sound, smells and colour.  Now I’ve travelled there I want to take my immersion to the next level by becoming involved in something more meaningful and sustained.  Amazingly despite the fact I’ve travelled a fair bit, 6 weeks will be the longest I have ever continuously been away from England without friends or family, and I think it will be the best challenge imaginable.

I’m keen to broaden my skills and meet people from other professional sectors- who knows what insights they might offer? I love personal connections and working in a team, so learning from my peers and also the people I meet in Hyderabad will be important for making the most of this programme.

“What happens after the programme?”  I have no idea!  But whatever it is I look forward to it and I am open to new changes that would not have offered themselves had I stayed on the same path.

Wanna get inspired? Then get your hands on our Top 16 Ideas for a Meaningful Career Break HERE

We still have a few places on the Immersion Programme, taking place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil this October 29th for 6 weeks. If you’d like to #JoinUs then send your details across here.

Leave a Reply

