A few tips for when visiting Sri Lanka

Thinking of joining the Sri Lanka programme?  _SocialStarters consultant Daniah Shariff on the ground in Sri Lanka shares her tips in this latest blog post!

Sri Lanka is a beautiful country with so much to see and culture to absorb. I’ve been based in Colombo for about a month now and have done a bit of travelling over the weekends. There are a few things I’ve learned (sometimes the hard way) so I thought I would give any travellers the heads up!

chroniclesofdaniah

Sri Lanka is a beautiful country with so much to see and culture to absorb. I’ve been based in Colombo for about a month now and have done a bit of travelling over the weekends. There are a few things I’ve learned (sometimes the hard way) so I thought I would give any travellers the heads up!

1) Sri Lankans are very friendly people and will say hi to you when your outfit or skin tone screams ‘I’m a tourist’. They will also probably ask you where you’re from. I was a bit taken back by this when I first arrived as we Londoners consider speaking to strangers as cardinal sin. It all comes from a good place so don’t feel like they’re intruding – just smile and nod at least.

2) Take an umbrella with you regardless of what season you travel in. We arrived in what was said…

View original post 1,052 more words

Leave a Reply

