introducing social impact consultant: Natalie Lambrou

This post was written by Natalie Lambrou, consultant in Sri Lanka, 2016

Sometimes I feel I am a walking cliché. This is how my story goes: Girl studies science and goes off to seek adventure. Girl discovers a world of interesting work teaching maths and entertaining children on a cruise ship. But then, girl thinks “isn’t it time to settle down?” and so she does. She meets a magical boy. She gets a corporate job and the new context is exciting and she moves and moves and moves again. But then one day she realises that something is missing. It is that person who threw herself into new things with abandon that is now hard to find. And that is how she came looking for _SocialStarters.

I am so excited to reconnect with my spirit, even though I am equal parts exhilarated and terrified by the thought. This time, however, as I explore the next big thing for me, I am more interested in making an impact with what I know rather than simply pursuing an experience for its own sake.

So this is what I know: I have worked in education, hospitality, entertainment, retail, and financial services over a span of 17 years. In those environments, I worked in operations, ran change management projects, and learned how to measure the impact of those changes. In doing this, I have become very interested in understanding how impact is measured, and more importantly, how it is created. I have been a leader, a follower, a stabiliser, and a spanner in the works, but I am energised by new ideas and love to see them develop into something meaningful. I would call myself a classic generalist, which has afforded me a solid, systemic perspective on business which I have augmented with training in business management, leadership and most recently, social entrepreneurship.

A collaborative working environment is extremely important for me. As an effective communicator and facilitator, I enjoy simplifying complex problems and engaging people to solve them. The _SocialStarters programme will give me the chance to immerse myself in a new adventure, change my perspective, do some worthwhile work, create new relationships, and encourage personal growth (both for myself and my business).

_

Would you like to #JoinUs in either Brazil, India, or Sri Lanka in 2016? APPLY HERE. Immersion Programmes are running throughout the year as well as a new programme format for people who can’t take 6 weeks out of their lives – our 2-3 week Inspiration Programme in Rio in August/September, and our flexible volunteer programme _TheAssignment. See our website for more details www.socialstarters.org.

Leave a Reply

