Introducing social impact consultant: Maria Izaskun valdazo fernandez

I have a banking background, but in the last few years I made the move from the corporate world to non-profit. I have to say it is one of the best choices I have ever made.

When I found out about social business, I thought that it was something I wanted be dedicated to. Social business makes a difference in people´s lives, they have a social impact on the community while maintaining financial sustainability.

I heard about the _SocialStarters programmes in different countries and I really wanted to be on board, not only because it was overseas, in this case in India, but also because I think they really help new businesses to expand and be profitable. I have also worked in high-tech start-ups and think that promoting new ideas and helping entrepreneurs to achieve their dreams while they are making a social impact is very rewarding.

Furthermore, I have the opportunity to get to know people from other backgrounds and countries so that we can learn from each other. The exchange of knowledge can be very helpful not only for us as volunteers, but also for the entrepreneurs.

I am so thankful for the opportunity to be a part of this exciting project and to learn from the entrepreneurs and consultants!

_

Would you like to #JoinUs in either Brazil, India, or Sri Lanka in 2016? APPLY HERE. Immersion Programmes are running throughout the year as well as a new programme format for people who can’t take 6 weeks out of their lives – our 2-3 week Inspiration Programme in Rio in August/September, and our flexible volunteer programme _TheAssignment. See our website for more details www.socialstarters.org.

Leave a Reply

