Introducing social impact consultant: Verena Wiget

This post was written by Verena Wiget, consultant in India, January 2016

“Let go and trust” might sound simple, but for me, as an extremely rational and controlled person, a revolutionary challenge and my theme for the second half of 2015!

During the last year I have taken some very important steps in “letting go and trusting.” I completed a trainer education course and facilitated workshops for underprivileged teenagers, joined a social entrepreneurship academy for a part time program in “societal innovation,” and finally, in November, I decided to quit my job as a project manager for e-mobility in a big corporation. Since then, things have been moving fast … and I have joined the _SocialStarters India programme!

Déjà-vu! In 2010 I was part of a group of 500 delegates from over 100 countries who created the global vision for AIESEC 2015, the biggest worldwide student organisation – a truly exceptional experience, which took place in Hyderabad.

The 5 years since have been an exciting journey! I  was quickly brought out of my comfort zone during cultural immersion experiences in while living in Sweden (graduating from Lund University in European studies/International relations and being selected president of AIESEC in Sweden) and Mexico (working for an NGO and corporation). Working for an NGO and also for global corporations raised a lot of questions concerning how we will work in the future and which issues to prioritise. Living in Mexico City, with a population of over 20 million, gave topics like megacities, future mobility, and renewable energy a different sense of urgency. Upon returning to Germany, I experienced intense reverse culture shock and questions like “where is my place in this world?” began to float through my mind. I realised that the issue of sustainability, in a social, economic and ecological context, had been a core interest throughout my life.

I believe that the _SocialStarters programme will provide the perfect transition from working in a big corporation to a social start-up (also concerning renewable energy). In addition, I expect the programme will aid in finding local solutions to global problems, raising awareness within myself and others – and act as an inspiring start for 2016!

_

Would you like to #JoinUs in either Brazil, India, or Sri Lanka in 2016? APPLY HERE. Immersion Programmes are running throughout the year as well as a new programme format for people who can’t take 6 weeks out of their lives – our 2-3 week Inspiration Programme in Rio in August/September, and our flexible volunteer programme _TheAssignment. See our website for more details www.socialstarters.org.

Leave a Reply

