Introducing Social Impact Consultant: Karin Hilzinger

I am going to be a social impact consultant with social starters in Rio de Janeiro this March. I might sound very cool, calm and collected saying this but actually I AM TOTALLY EXCITED!!!

I had a mini-sabbatical coming up and had been looking for something worthwhile to do for some time, checking out various volunteering programs, but not finding anything that clicked with me. I have no aspirations on sainthood nor do I need to escape a stifling career (I’m lucky to have a great job), I just thought that this gift of free time could be used in more meaningful ways than by sitting on some beach. However, having a sharp brain but two left hands excluded building houses or shelters, nobody in their right mind would want to leave orphans in my care for longer than their lunch break, and the mere idea of washing elephants brought tears of boredom to my eyes.

When I finally stumbled upon the _SocialStarters’ website, I got goose pimples. Literally. Now that was an idea that resonated with me! I’m passionate about helping people transform ideas into projects that eventually become reality and have spent most of my working life doing exactly that in various professions. The prospect of doing what I love in a very different context – social entrepreneurship – and in a country and culture unknown to me, was instantly appealing. And challenging. Since I promised myself years ago that I would never again accept any job or project that did not make me feel excited and slightly scared at the same time, this is exactly how I like it.

Can’t wait!

___

Would you like to #JoinUs in either Brazil, India, or Sri Lanka in 2016? APPLY HERE. Immersion Programmes are running throughout the year as well as a new programme format for people who can’t take 6 weeks out of their lives – our 2-3 week Inspiration Programme in Rio in August/September, and our flexible volunteer programme _TheAssignment. See our website for more details www.socialstarters.org.

Leave a Reply

