Introducing Social Impact Consultant: Maricar Apuya

As a first-generation immigrant from the Philippines and naturalized citizen of the U.S., I grew up attending Title 1 schools, public schools with a large concentration of students in poverty. So, I grew up knowing earning a college degree would be the way out of recycling myself in the same neighborhood but fearing that it may not happen for me.

After college, I went on to work for PricewaterhouseCoopers in a tax specialty called Transfer Pricing. It was rigorous and intellectually stimulating work that was attached to a lot of prestige and I enjoyed it quite a bit. Looking back in retrospect, I realized that the position validated me in a really big way, especially considering my background but never made me feel that this was my highest and best use in the world.

So I went to graduate school and studied Economics. To be honest, I don’t really know why but really, I was looking for meaning and purpose and what that even meant. I was especially looking for the space that would meld my background with my professional.

I did the rigorous things that they make all Economics students do and in my free time, I read books by authors that explored what it meant to live a meaningful life. After shifting my energy into socially focused endeavors, I stumbled into Non-Profit Accounting and Non-Profit organizations by definition.

Interested in #joining us in either Brazil, India, Sri Lanka or the Phillippines in 2016? APPLY HERE.  Immersion Programmes are running throughout the year as well as two new programme formats for people who can’t take 6 weeks out their lives – our 2-3 week Inspiration Programme in Rio in July, and our 10-day Transformation Programme in India in September. See our website for more details www.socialstarters.org.

Leave a Reply

