India Programme Manager Anna B. Has Big Plans

I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I wanted to work and travel between my Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees. I wanted to use my time off somewhat less responsibly to do what I wanted to do–see the world, explore, learn and change.

Change what?

Since I can remember I wanted to change the world. Usually people laugh at me, either in disbelief or in pity. It feels like most of them have lost hope, saying things like, “You can’t change it anyways.” But I am an optimist, and I believe that I can change something. I am not sure what, but I can change something.

_SocialStarters has given me the opportunity to take a big step towards my goal. As I discovered, the “_” in _SocialStarters represents a space for change. I got the chance to extend my limits personally, professionally, and culturally.

Personally, I took a big step and traveled to so called “developing countries” on my own, helped in the setup of new _SocialStarters programmes, and proved my ability as a change-maker.

Professionally, I gained huge responsibility. Working in a start-up offers freedom. I can start my own initiatives, workshops, processes, and projects. But at the same time, I am responsible for their success. If they don’t work, I change and iterate. That’s how I’m going to be able to provide the best and as impactful as possible. This in turns rewards those involved with _SocialStarters with incredible personal and professional growth.

Culturally, I have been in situations I never imagined I’d find myself in. I danced my heart out in Rio de Janeiro, hunted snakes and scorpions in my room in India, and soon will run my feet through the white sand of the Philippines. All whilst taking care of up to 10 volunteers.

With my 23 years and limited professional experience I am proud of myself. And I am proud of _SocialStarters. They took a leap of faith and trusted me and my ability. I am making sure it is paying off for them. My feedback is positive, and I feel like I found something I am good at. And I am getting closer to defining the change I want to bring in the world. Over the past year, it’s been a rollercoaster ride for the organization, and for me – because at the start, I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

Learn more about _SocialStarter’s impact in 2015 by visiting our celebration of 2015 online. Meet the Consultants and clients who made big changes in their communities and within themselves.

Interested in #joining us in either Brazil, India, Sri Lanka or the Phillippines in 2016?

Check our website out for all the details and dates of our various programmes and opportunities and apply for upcoming programmes here.

 

Leave a Reply

