INTRODUCING SOCIAL ENTERPRISE CONSULTANT #44: YAN MING

“My resume is just a list of things I really never want to do again.” I saw this sentence on a friend’s Facebook page. It’s me, almost! Of course there are a few things I still enjoy doing, like hiking, bouldering, traveling… Well, it’s not all that bad. I have been working in banking for the past 9
years as a risk manager. I consider myself lucky to have come this way. My work was interesting compared with other back office jobs in the bank. I enjoyed the analytics part very much, as well as the trouble shooting aspects. I always have great satisfaction from making improvements. I was trained to pay attention to details although I am much more interested in big pictures. However, it wasn’t enough and I knew that for years.

In September 2014 I finally stopped and took a drastic turn. After a year of internal cultivation, wondering and volunteering… it’s getting clearer for me that I want to do something with my skills and more importantly, meaningful things. I have been asking myself how would I be able to help in the best way possible? So far I have spent about half of the time during my break to volunteer for various projects in two organisations in different parts of the world.

My first encounter of social enterprise was in Scotland about a year ago. For me it’s like a star shining in the darkness, raising from the sea of people trying to make a difference in a sustainable way. _SocialStarters came into sight from an accidental search online. Don’t all the important things coming like this?! I am grateful for this opportunity; to be able to visit the famous Auroville and learn about social enterprises. Not sure what is ahead of me, but I am looking forward to it and am excited about what I might be able to find along the way.

#JoinUs on a programme and volunteer with grassroots social entrepreneurs.

India – 31st January (6 weeks) || Sri Lanka – 13th February (6 Weeks) || Brazil – 19th March (6 weeks) To apply, send your email with a cover note to info@socialstarters.org and clearly state in the subject heading which programme and what date you are applying for. If successful, you will invited to a Skype interview with one of the team!

Leave a Reply

