INTRODUCING SOCIAL ENTERPRISE CONSULTANT #43 – KARISHMA HARJANI

I first heard of Auroville in June 2010, through a friend who had volunteered there. Her stories were so enchanting that I vowed to do the same one day. In May 2013 while on a flight (from London to Barcelona) I came across an article about Auroville. I saved the magazine cut out and promised myself once again to visit this unique city some day.

One weekend in the summer of 2015 while surfing the net, bored and weak (with a terrible flu), the opportunity to finally go to Auroville stared me in the face. The _SocialStarters post not only offered the chance to volunteer in Auroville but also put to good use my Design Management degree. I had to get on the programme. So I applied, got in and now it is only a few days away!

Now a little bit about me: I am of Indian origin but I was born and raised in Barcelona, Spain. I studied Fashion Design here and during my undergraduate degree started working as an assistant stylist in Film and TV.  A year after graduating I went to London College of Fashion to do a Master’s in Design Management. My interest for subjects such as Corporate Social Responsibility, Entrepreneurship, Design Thinking and Branding began here.

After my post-graduate degree I got swallowed back into the world of costume and styling. Now I am at a point where I want to re-think, take time out to be curious again, marry my interests and re-direct my career. Most importantly I want to find a way to do more meaningful work. I am hoping that the _SocialStarter’s programme will be the beginning of this career re-direction.

#JoinUs on a programme and volunteer with grassroots social entrepreneurs.

India – 30th January (6 weeks) & 2nd April (6 weeks) || Sri Lanka –13th February (6 Weeks) & 16th April (6 weeks) || Brazil – 19th March (6 weeks) & 4th June (6 weeks) || Rio Inspiration Programme – July 2016 (3 weeks) .

To apply, send your email with a cover note to info@socialstarters.org and clearly state in the subject heading which programme and what date you are applying for. If successful, you will invited to a Skype interview with one of the team!

Leave a Reply

