INTRODUCING SOCIAL ENTERPRISE CONSULTANT #39: AIOFE DAVERN

The lense through which you view the world, your family, your friends, your colleagues, your own day-to-day life is ultimately what will make you happy and content or dissatisfied.

I had felt for a while that my perspective on my life between London and Ireland was pretty rosy, but I had this feeling that perhaps my perspective was a bit narrow and that there is more to be seen and heard. One of my goals for 2015 is to travel, and I’m going to spend 3 months in India. Check.
Why India? Why _SocialStarters? Why 3 months?
India
I spent ages researching where to go and the type of work I could do, with going to Asia being my only requirement. I practically created a second full time job for myself, I had a spreadsheet comparing each country, the types of opportunitiesand the overall value of lifestyle. Anything was an option, but it struck me that there is a huge variety of programmes across India and that the quality of volunteering programmes overall seemed higher.

_SocialStarters
Then I came across _SocialStarters and I felt a flicker of fire in my stomach. The programme was started by a young woman from Surrey with a passion for volunteering and providing benefits to both the volunteers and clients involved. The programme lasts 6 weeks, focusing on Social Enterprise and provides a week training. It just felt like the right option for me and after speaking to Anna I was certain.
3 Months
I’ve added on a little bit of travel on either side of the _SocialStarter programme starting in October bringing me back to Ireland just in time for Christmas and overall I’ll be away for about 3 months. Is that long enough to broaden my
perspective? From what I’ve heard and read, just one day in Auroville will be enough to do that! I think our perspective changes as we move in and out of different phases in our lives and I’m excited to see that change after working in
Auroville. I’m about to leave behind my cosy rosy perspective on my life in London and I have no idea what to expect really. I’m excited and nervous at the same time, the flicker of fire in my stomach is still alight and I can’t wait to get right into the thick of it all, whatever my project may be. I think I will meet some amazing people, see some incredible sights and have one of the best times of my life.

But that’s just my perspective.

#JoinUs on a programme and volunteer with grassroots social entrepreneurs.

India – 31st January (6 weeks) || Sri Lanka – 13th February (6 Weeks) || Brazil – 19th March (6 weeks) To apply, send your email with a cover note to info@socialstarters.org and clearly state in the subject heading which programme and what date you are applying for. If successful, you will invited to a Skype interview with one of the team!

Leave a Reply

