INTRODUCING SOCIAL ENTERPRISE CONSULTANT #34 – Andrea Braune

Yes, I‘ve been working for „the dark side“, and I admit I did it for quite a while. I performed market analyses, consumer research, media research, interviews… in short: a lot of research leading to only one goal: selling things to people who didn’t even know they needed it until we told them so. And why didn’t they know this before? Well I guess because the things were probably not that necessary.

This – in short – was my professional experience in Strategic Planning in advertising and TV research. To be honest, the time I spent in this area of work was FUN. I love researching, trying to squeeze every drop of information out of the biggest masses of data imaginable, and deriving the most crucial insights from it. To many Mass Communication / Psychology students like me, my career thus far sounded just great. But still… I had the gut feeling that I wasn’t really happy. But why? The search for the answer to that question nagging me day in, day out made me first quit my job as TV researcher, then made a Environmental Science student out of me, and finally got me here, writing this introduction blog post and waiting impatiently for the trip to Auroville to begin.

Being a vegetarian since my early teenage years, a vegan for some years and a person who’s always been passionate about animal welfare, environmental protection, and the question about how our behaviour and diet affect our climate and our planet as a whole, I’ve decided that I couldn’t lean back and just watch anymore. I want to make a change, for the animals, for our environment, and, ultimately, for the people. The WHY is clear to me. The HOW, on the other hand, hasn’t been answered yet. And this is where Social Starters come in!

I am looking for ideas, bold and small ones, how to improve the way we live, consume, share without sacrificing our environment, our ideals, our future. I am confident that my time in India with likeminded people, creative innovators and passionate entrepreneurs will give me tons of inspiration AND solid start-up knowledge to take back home with me. The hippie/guru town of Auroville seems to be just the right place for thinking out-of-the-box, questioning the “normal”, western way of live and redefining what is truly important.

#JoinUs on a programme and volunteer with grassroots social entrepreneurs.

India – 24th October (6 weeks) || Brazil – 31st October (6 weeks) || India – 31st January (6 weeks) || Sri Lanka – 13th February (6 Weeks) || Brazil – 19th March (6 weeks) To apply, send your email with a cover note to info@socialstarters.org and clearly state in the subject heading which programme and what date you are applying for. If successful, you will invited to a Skype interview with one of the team! 

Leave a Reply

