INTRODUCING SOCIAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP CONSULTANT #33 – Carson Poplin

My first-grade teacher showed us a map and pointed out the seven continents. We learned the names and where on the map they were. Little 7-year-old me thought to myself, “That’s it? There are only seven places in the whole world?”

Since then, I’ve been on a quest to prove that assumption wrong.

I’ve spent every penny I have traveling. There’s nowhere I don’t want to go, nothing I don’t want to know about and then tell people about. When I’m not going places, I’m reading about them in anything I can get my hands on: books, magazines, pamphlets. I’ve been all kinds of places just to have the experience: Port Elizabeth, Melbourne, Beijing, Cartagena, the Panama Canal.

Because of my thirst for learning about the world, being part of the Social Starters Immersion Program in Rio de Janeiro is a dream come true, an opportunity to learn about an industry that has a positive impact on the world. I am a firm believer that the world can only improve through collaboration and learning between citizens of different cultures.

I am extremely excited to be a part of that. I want to have a meaningful career inspiring change, supporting others and tapping into my creativity to enrich emerging ideas. I am thrilled to surround myself with people who are doing precisely those things  – like the people at Social Starters.

Knowing what I know now, I’m glad there are more than seven places in the world and that each place is filled with millions more experiences. I want to live as many of those experiences as possible while engrossing myself in an environment that challenges me and makes me a better global citizen. This Immersion Program is my opportunity to do just that.

India – 24th October (6 weeks) || Brazil – 31st October (6 weeks) || India – 31st January (6 weeks) || Sri Lanka – 13th February (6 Weeks) || Brazil – 19th March (6 weeks) To apply, send your email with a cover note to info@socialstarters.org and clearly state in the subject heading which programme and what date you are applying for. If successful, you will invited to a Skype interview with one of the team! 

Leave a Reply

