INTRODUCING SOCIAL ENTREPRENEUR CONSULTANT #31 – Susannah McClintock

My belief that businesses should aim to achieve more than just profits took hold whilst I was living in India. I saw how all resources are valued and used to create businesses. I was particularly struck by the fact that nothing was wasted, everything was considered valuable – entrepreneurs would come to my house to ask to take away waste items from which they would then make a living. The idea that everything had value and could be put to use for both economic and environmental gain stuck with me.

Some years later when I escaped from the corporate world it was to work on government programmes supporting economic solutions to environmental issues. For the past 10 years I have been lucky enough to work supporting, investing in and launching businesses with environmental missions around clean energy and sustainability. I am a Charitable Board Trustee for a local social housing charity providing accommodation to vulnerable people. I love this socially positive part of my week and am hoping that the _SocialStarters programme will give me some time to reflect on how I can pursue more social missions in my day to day life and in my work.

I am passionate about business models which aim to maximise the use of funds and resources to create sustainable enterprises that achieve specific environmental or social outcome. I love to travel and to meet new people and learn about their lives and their businesses. I am really excited to be in Rio to learn more about social enterprises from the entrepreneurs themselves and to spend time with people who are passionate about this exciting economic revolution.

Leave a Reply

