INTRODUCING SOCIAL ENTERPRISE CONSULTANT #22 – LEAH MUSCH

At the age of 21, I combined my love of fashion and entrepreneurialism by opening my own retail store called ‘The Happy Cabin’ in Brisbane’s West End. I stocked men and womens’ clothing, gifts and homewares that I sourced from interesting places all over the world, often trying to support independent or local designers.

I ran the store 6 days a week for over 2 years, and during that time it grew and expanded to be bigger and better than I had ever first imagined. Running my own business was challenging but extremely rewarding, and I learnt so much about my own capabilities. Last year I had a bit of a personal health transformation after joining a local boot camp. I became extremely passionate about nutrition and decided to sell the store in order to study and learn more about alternative medicine.

The store was bought by two friends of mine who are still running it today. I’m very close to completing my study and become a certified Eating Psychology Coach in June. I’m now in a place where I’m looking for my next big project.

I’m not sure how I will combine my love of fashion, food, health and creativity into a new business – but I’m sure that my upcoming adventure in Rio with _Social Starters will spark a whole range of new ideas. I also know that I want whatever new business I start next to be people focused and to have a positive influence on the world. I can’t wait for this next stage of my life to begin!

Last chance to apply for the Social Innovation Bootcamp! Are you free July 4th to 18th 2015? If so, we’re offering this incredible opportunity at the competitive rate of £1280.00 (VAT included), which includes 14 nights accommodation in Rio, a crash course in social innovation, problem solving & creativity workshops, career coaching & mentoring, trips & excursions, programme related travel expenses, free WIFI, a mobile phone SIM, phone credit and more. Book your interview before 7th June by sending your CV and a cover note telling us why you want to come to info@socialstarters.org. There are only a few places left so don’t delay! Places go on a first come first serve basis.

Leave a Reply

