INTRODUCING SOCIAL ENTERPRISE CONSULTANT #21 – AMANDA JENKINS

My passion for the nonprofit sector—more broadly social change— began in high school when I worked alongside the leadership of a youth activism nonprofit in Boston. Since then, social impact has been (and will continue to be) the currency used to monetize my life’s successes.

As a student I have been particularly driven by the idea of utilising business skills to facilitate social change and have found myself, six years later, still entrenched in high-impact, third sector work. Most notably, I have worked for the last two years as a pro-bono consultant outside of my studies, where I have leveraged the missions of our non-profit clients with cross-sector methodologies to deliver strategic solutions on a variety of organizational issues.

But as a soon-to-be graduate of Georgetown University, I also find myself at a critical juncture and must now ask what comes next.

At the end of the summer I will join a reputable consulting firm as a full-time analyst. There I hope to build broadly applicable business and management skills that I can one day take back with me to the social sector. In the future I hope to continue to work across all sectors to augment the impact of social organizations.

While my vision of exactly what that high-impact work will look like continues to evolve, I have amassed the perspective that I can provide the most value to the social sector as an individual that takes every opportunity they are given to challenge oneself and build a different perspective.

The _SocialStarters experience in Brazil follows that logic, combining these broad goals in a completely new and excitedly challenging setting for me. I am more than excited to see what this new chapter brings!

Last chance to apply for the Social Innovation Bootcamp! Are you free July 4th to 18th 2015? If so, we’re offering this incredible opportunity at the competitive rate of £1280.00 (VAT included), which includes 14 nights accommodation in Rio, a crash course in social innovation, problem solving & creativity workshops, career coaching & mentoring, trips & excursions, programme related travel expenses, free WIFI, a mobile phone SIM, phone credit and more. Book your interview before 7th June by sending your CV and a cover note telling us why you want to come to info@socialstarters.org. There are only a few places left so don’t delay! Places go on a first come first serve basis.

Leave a Reply

