INTRODUCING SOCIAL ENTERPRISE CONSULTANT #19 – KAREN HERBST

My career hasn’t followed a steady, straight path but it has been quite a journey so far and I am looking forward to where it takes me next!

The early years of my life were spent in South Africa and Zimbabwe, which exposed me to a range of experiences including most things you would assume from living in Africa. My family left when I was 15 and moved to Ireland where I achieved my BA in English and Anthropology. I also spent a year abroad in Miami during my university years and now I live in London.

I started my career in my final year at university working in the uni’s International Office to increase awareness of study abroad. I designed booklets advertising the university to international students, organised events to increase campus awareness of the programmes and ran a photography competition that culminated in a ‘Cosmopolitan Cocktail Party’ which was attended by students, lecturers and international ambassadors.

Since then I have had an internship with Microsoft working with a company called TeachNet. I redesigned and updated websites created by teachers on their programme, which helps to create learning materials which are accessible online.

I moved to London in 2011, and in 2012 I started working with Teaching Leaders: a charity that helps develop the leadership skills of young middle leaders in underprivileged schools. My role was to administer, develop and maintain their database systems which included Salesforce administration and a custom-built platform that recorded student data. It is here that I developed an interest in eLearning as I was spending a lot of time training people, in various cities, on these systems.

Once I realised that I wanted to be a full time eLearning designer, I pursued this by working for an eLearning development company called Good eLearning and then moved on to a telecommunications company called Truphone. It was at Truphone that I developed more of a senior position and started to develop the global eLearning strategy for the company, which spanned 8 countries across the world.

I am now settling into my role as a Freelance Senior eLearning Designer and seeing where it takes me. I have been very lucky to experience all that I have, but I am seeking more. Taking my desire to feel a passion for my work and truly make a difference is what drew me to Social Starters and I am looking forward to using my cultural and professional experiences to help the budding entrepreneurs in Hyderabad this summer.

If you’d like to #JoinUs in India on our next Immersion Programme (forthcoming dates: August & October) in the role of Social Enterprise Consultant we only have a few places left so hurry, don’t delay! Send us your CV and a cover letter to info@socialstarters.org or find out more HERE. For the India programme pack, click HERE.

One thought on “INTRODUCING SOCIAL ENTERPRISE CONSULTANT #19 – KAREN HERBST

Leave a comment