Introducing Social Enterprise Consultant #12 – Katherine Olivo


We met Katherine Olivo at the start of the year just before our first programme in India, and we’re so glad she’s joining us in India May. A Trading Ops professional from Goldman Sachs for 9 years she quit her job in May last year and she has been travelling round South East Asia and the USA since, keen to travel with purpose. Here’s her story.

I come to the programme from a background in the Operations Division of a Global Investment Bank. I held various roles supporting securities trading and debt and equity new issues.

My responsibilities varied from coordinating the end-to-end processing of new issues, from an operational perspective, performing risk management functions, to managing the migration from legacy systems onto strategic platforms. During my time in the Trading Operations team I managed the migration of part of my team’s functions to Bangalore, India, where I managed the team for 2 years.

Having the opportunity to live and work within a different culture was an enriching experience for me both personally and professionally. I had known for some time that I wished to pursue a career within a more meaningful environment.

After returning home to London in late in 2013, it was time for me to take a risk, make a change, and hopefully make a difference. I resigned from my position in 2014 and took some time out. I have a passion for exploring and adventure, and I spent 8 months travelling through India, Vietnam, Thailand, Myanmar and USA. Returning home I found _Social Starters.

Their story inspired me and I felt a strong affinity to the work they carry out. The India programme particularly appealed to me because of the time I spent there. During my time in India I grew very attached to the country and recognised the potential for development of the substantial talent pool within it.

I am very excited about the opportunity to learn new skills from _Social Starters and my fellow consultants. There is real meaning for me to provide help and support to entrepreneurs in India in developing their businesses and realising their potential. I am eager to take the skills I have learnt and translate them to help build more ethical and sustainable businesses whilst being sensitive to the local culture.

Being offered the opportunity to be part of the _Social Starters India programme will give me the opportunity to use my skills to make a positive contribution and give back to a truly amazing country. I am looking forward to the opportunities and challenges of the journey ahead!

If you’d like to #JoinUs in India, Sri Lanka or Brazil in 2015 and travel with purpose, send your CV and a cover note to info@socialstarters.org clearly stating the programme location in the subject heading.  We are also taking applications for our ‘2 Week Social Innovation Bootcamp’ in Rio taking place in Brazil’s cultural capital in July 2015. We are looking for 10 ‘future leaders’ in the social innovation space to #JoinUs on a social enterprise trip of a lifetime. Deadline for applications is 10th April. Please pop Social Innovation Bootcamp in the subject heading and make sure to apply as we are looking for people with all types of experience!

One thought on “Introducing Social Enterprise Consultant #12 – Katherine Olivo

Leave a Reply

