Introducing Social Enterprise Consultant #11 – Lizett Trujillo

Lizett Trujillo is the eleventh _SocialStarters trainee Social Enterprise Consultant to #JoinUs on our mission to launch and develop social enterprises around the world. A former Business Analyst for Entertainment & Media clients at Accenture, she is joining us in June in Brazil. Here she introduces herself and tells us how she transitioned from the corporate world to entrepreneurship.

After facing much adversity as a first-generation college student, I received my bachelor’s degree in business from the University of Arkansas. I had become the first in all of my family to earn a college degree.

This milestone was soon followed by another when I was hired by a very reputable consulting firm. I was recruited to Los Angeles where I did technology consulting for America’s Fortune 100 & Fortune 500 companies. There I learned a variety of valuable business, consulting, and tech skills from savvy professionals across a wide range of industries while making an excellent salary. I had worked so hard to get there and it was everything I had thought I wanted.

Except… I quickly learned that I wasn’t passionate about the work I was doing. Even at the end of a successful project, I still couldn’t find personal joy and fulfillment. I wanted to do something more impactful where I could help people and the environment more directly.

So I turned to entrepreneurship. A colleague and I launched a men’s wristwatch company made in part from sustainable bamboo. GEN Bamboo has since been (and continues to be) one of the best and most pleasant learning experiences I’ve had. I’ve continued to follow my passion particularly in social entrepreneurship where I can blend business principals with philanthropic causes.

_SocialStarters has allowed me an exciting opportunity to pursue work in this space through the Brazil Immersion Programme.

My ambition afterwards is to launch more business projects and to collaborate with other social entrepreneurship ventures.

If you’d like to #JoinUs in Brazil in 2015, we’ve opened our recruitment for the November programme. Send your CV and a cover note to info@socialstarters.org clearly stating Brazil November Programme in the subject heading.

We are also taking applications for our ‘2 Week Social Innovation Bootcamp’ in Rio taking place in Brazil’s cultural capital from 4th July 2015. We are looking for 10 ‘future leaders’ in the social innovation space to #JoinUs on a social enterprise trip of a lifetime. Deadline for applications is 10th April. Please pop Social Innovation Bootcamp in the subject heading and make sure to apply as we are looking for people with all types of experience!

Leave a Reply

