Introducing the team: Sammy Speaks

My name is Sammy Bellamy and I am the Program Coordinator and Researcher for _SocialStarters.

I have an interesting history with social entrepreneurship that actually stemmed from my lifelong desire to work for myself.  I grew up knowing that I wanted to be my own boss, and I wanted to make other people happy.

During my time at Elon University, I applied to be a Doherty Scholar, which is an honor given to a student who demonstrates leadership in the Business School.  This application process had three parts, and I did tons of research on different types of enterprise, which is how I ended up learning about social entrepreneurship! I was immediately hooked and have been ever since.

Social enterprise is the perfect medium to tackle social issues with my business-oriented mind. I have been studying International Business and Spanish, and hope to be working in international development upon graduation.  I really became passionate about social entrepreneurship after doing an internship in Costa Rica, working with victims of sex trafficking.  This foundation taught women how to be independent and self-sufficient.  One part seemed to be missing – sustainability.

The wheels began turning, and now I am hoping to eventually start my own international social enterprise, to help women escape unfortunate circumstances and teach them how to move forward in a sustainable way.

I decided to volunteer with _SocialStarters because the mission of this movement is in direct alignment with my beliefs.  It is such an exciting time to be part of this start-up, and I cannot wait to see how far we will go!

Leave a Reply

